Word by Word, the secret life of dictionaries by Kory Stamper

Find in catalogThe fun begins in the preface to this delightful, witty, edifying volume. Kory Stamper describes her work as a “linguistic fun house of doors that open into air and staircases that lead nowhere”. I’m hooked and the good times keep rolling. I just read the chapter called Irregardless: On Wrong Words. By turns, I roll my eyes, mutter “huh”, and then find myself laughing out loud. Coming up is a chapter called Nuclear: on Pronunciation. I can’t wait to read Stamper’s experiences, the history of pronunciation guides, and all the attendant riffs she includes to such happy effect.

Leave a Reply

