Nowhere But Here (Thunder Road, #1) by Katie McGarry

Find in catalogI found this to be a solid 4 star read for me. My love for motorcycle romance started years ago after watching the tv show – SOA (which really isn’t a romance tv series). I was drawn to the gritty world of bikers. So, when I discovered there were books that were about motorcycle clubs and they had romance in them, I knew I found a genre I’d be reading a lot of.

Emily is a 17 years old who has spent her life in the dark about her mother and biological father’s past. She’s met her father a few times but she’s been indifferent towards him. He gave up his rights to her when she was little and so she’s given up really caring who he is. Emily’s world is full of secrets she’s not privy to. Everyone around her feels it’s in her best interest to leave those secrets buried except for one person. That person can’t divulge the secret but they become the guiding light in helping Emily uncover what has been kept from her all her life. I try to avoid books that have cancer in them and when I found out one of the side characters had cancer I was already invested in the story. So, I made the decision to continue on. I appreciated that even though the character had cancer the reader didn’t have to go through all the symptoms of cancer with that character. We never even find out what type of cancer the character has because it wasn’t about the tragic effects of cancer but instead how it brought an estranged family together. This is my first young adult romance. For those who like the atmosphere of the club life but want a tamer version of that environment, this is a good one try. NOWHERE BUT HERE is a young adult motorcycle romance. It’s set in the same universe as Walk the Edge, Long Way Home, and Untitled. Each one can be read as a standalone, but the characters are interconnected.

Leave a Reply

