Grievous (Scarlet Scars, #2) by J.M. Darhower

I need a moment to catch my breath. GRIEVOUS was everything I had hoped for and more. I’ve been anxiously waiting for this second part knowing that Ms. Darhower was going to blow this out of the water. I never doubt her abilities to write the best dark books out there. If you’re wondering what kind of work our anti-hero, Lorenzo, does he has summed it up for us: “We bribe a bunch of motherf****** to look the other way as we funnel the good **** in from Cuba. I deal with our connections and handle the money. Three distributes the inventory, while Seven makes sure I keep my head on straight through it all. Eye on the prize. The rest of the guys, well, they mostly do the brunt work, and it pays pretty damn good, so they don’t complain.” Morgan’s ‘job’ is just surviving and staying out of trouble while Lorenzo tries to solve her situation. The thing is Morgan does what Morgan wants. She’s survived a long time on her own so she’s not just going to start taking orders from anyone. “And I thought I told you to stay out of trouble. I even asked nicely.” ~Lorenzo “Yeah, well, the trouble with trouble is that it doesn’t always look like trouble, Lorenzo.” ~Morgan ‘This was very obviously trouble, woman.” ~Lorenzo I love that Morgan never shied away from Lorenzo. At times Lorenzo was unpredictable and claimed to be allergic to feelings but that never stopped Morgan from continuing to keep him on his toes. Holy moly, the twist in this book had my jaw on the floor. I wish I could say more about it but you’ll see when you read the book. Just be ready to say – WTF. I got all choked up reading the ENDING because it was so EPIC. It squeezed at my heart and made my eyes feel watery. I love this dark, sexy and at times funny read. An intense and emotional read that will you leave flipping pages as fast as you can to see how it all ends. READ THIS SERIES!! Grievous is a 2-part series set in New York. Menace is the beginning of Lorenzo & Morgan’s story and Grievous is the conclusion.

Leave a Reply

