Styled, by Emily Henderson

Find in catalogI was excited to see the library bought this book; I’d heard Emily Henderson’s name in a few design blogs and podcasts. While she is undoubtably talented, I found myself disliking the super styled nature of the book. (I know, I know, that’s the title, so what did I expect?) At first I thought it was a great approach, learning how to style little vignettes around the house and tweak them for maximum attractiveness, but then it all got overwhelming (like you should do this in every room, and have little vignettes everywhere) and fake (buy this weird clown statute, not cause you love it, but for “interest”) and expensive seeming. I guess in the end, even though I already make vignettes around my house, these photos look nothing like my house, and so I couldn’t relate.

Leave a Reply

