Fighting Solitude, by Aly Martinez

I loved this book and everything about it. Out of the 3 books in the series, this one is my favorite. I knew from the moment we met Quarry as a little guy in the first book that I wanted to know how his story turned out.
On The Ropes is an excellent series about 3 brothers and how they overcome hardships in their lives. Till is the oldest of the three and because of their neglectful parents, he takes it upon himself to raise his brothers. The sacrifice and discipline he endures to make sure his younger brothers are well taken care of is honorable.
FIGHTING SOLITUDE is Quarry’s story of finding love and success within in the confines of life’s obstacles. Quarry ”The Stone Fist” Page is my favorite of the three brothers. His story touched me so deeply that I’m still thinking about it days later. While I may not know what it’s like to be deaf or to have a close relationship with someone who is, I do know what it’s like to watch someone who you love overcome a disability. The willingness to be “normal” and fit in is human nature.
The complexities of the story from being raised by his older brother -to- losing someone you love -to- knowing you’re going deaf -to- becoming a professional fighter was the right mix of awesomeness. It had everything I had hoped for plus more. I’m not a crier but when I read the notes left behind I couldn’t help but break down and cry.
This is definitely a favorite book of 2016 for me. I’m excited to see what Ms. Martinez brings us next because if it’s anywhere close to being as good as this one… she’ll have another winner.
SERIES: Fighting Silence (On the Ropes, #1) Fighting Shadows (On the Ropes, #2) Fighting Solitude (On the Ropes, #3) Each book focuses on one of the three brothers. Book 1 – Till | Book 2 – Flint | Book 3 – Quarry

Leave a Reply

