Eat, Pray, Love Made Me Do It – Misc. authors

Find in catalogHaving had a recent “Liz Gilbert’s podcast made me do it” experience, my heart leapt when I learned of this book. Great title, great concept. However, I found that most of the essays I read were not grabbing me–although the authors of the pieces were spurred to do things that meant a lot to them, reading about it didn’t mean a lot to me, and many of the pieces were surprisingly flat for the inspiration behind them. I did like “Pepperoni Ephiphanies,” “Playing the Part,” “Cry, Teach, Grow,” and “Crossing Over,”–they had a voice and were well-written stories, rather than a dry list of “I was here, and then Eat, Pray, Love inspired me to be here” (be it a physical place or a mental place). There does seem to be an ideal reader for this book–and that reader is Liz Gilbert! But for the rest of us who liked Eat, Pray, Love, better to reread that book than this one.

Leave a Reply

