the life-changing magic of tidying up, by Marie Kondo

Find in catalogMarie Kondo is a “cleaning consultant” who makes her living helping people tidy their houses with her KonMari organizing system. Since we don’t usually use the term “tidy” as a verb here, I got a little tired of that usage.
But this woman is very, very successful. Her basic premise is that we should only keep things that “spark joy” in our homes. Many of her clients have rid their homes of bags and bags of belongings. In doing so, many of them have felt freer to pursue the lives and livelihoods that they really want, partly as a result of making the decisions to keep only what they really want inside their homes.
I don’t know if I’m ready to follow every part of her advice (like keeping my kitchen sponge outdoors), but I can see the reasoning. I did enjoy envisioning her as a child, organizing her family’s home. These personal glimpses added more life to the text.
It was inspiring to imagine such dramatic changes, especially thinking about the small size of many Japanese homes. Maybe in America, we will also want to learn to — Tidy Up!

One Response to the life-changing magic of tidying up, by Marie Kondo

  1. My co-worker was just talking about this book and how she’s been clearing out stuff- lots of stuff. I’m always impressed by how beautiful and clutter free homes in Asian movies appear. That is till I saw a documentary in Japan and discovered, much to my relief, that some of the homes depicted were cluttered. While a specific culture might help, people will be people I guess.

Leave a Reply

