Still Alice by Lisa Genova

Find in catalogHardly is a book so emotional exhausting and taxing as this one! I found myself with a new found appreciation for simply knowing where and who I am; i.e. having a just plain and simple working memory. What a gift. And what an amazing and tragic story this is and I am amazed at her strength and character. I feel an increased understanding of those dealing with this disease and I’m grateful for that as I am sure I may come across this disease at some point. The biggest take-away for me was how people react to the disease. Family, friends, and co-workers will frequently pull away, unsure of what to do and how to act, or they can adjust and support one another- making all the difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

