The underground girls of Kabul- in search of a hidden resistance in Afghanistan by Jenny Nordberg

Find in catalogI initially came across this book after I am Malala, and thought to give that and this book to my thirteen year old cousin for a gift. While I gave her Malala’s book, I decided it would be best to read this one myself first to make sure it was as age appropriate as Malala. And I am really glad I did! The material is a little heavy for the younger crowd, but none the less, extremely important for educated members of society to be familiar with. This was a truly amazing book and I learned so much information and was constantly astounded by what I read. Jenny takes you through an extensive Afghan women’s history lesson and through a couple women’s lives in modern day Afghanistan. I have a new found respect for Afghani women and their struggle. I was so impressed by their fight for love, freedom, and justice. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone that values those qualities.

Leave a Reply

