The Other Wind by Ursula K. Le Guin

The Other WindThe Other Wind is the final book of Le Guin’s Earthsea Cycle, and came out years later than the first four of the series. Each book stands up as a full and satisfying read on its own, but taken together, they form a rich series, with each book focusing a bit more heavily on one character or another. For that reason, I preferred The Tombs of Atuan and Tehanu (books #2 and 4), as they focused on strong female protagonists, with themes of survival and empowerment. The Other Wind wraps up the series in a gentle way, touching on each character’s arc and reminding the reader of their histories as individuals and in collaboration. There is a strong plot – magic, dragons, and a breach between the worlds of the living and the dead – but I felt that this book was different, less urgent perhaps than the others. This might be because it’s wrapping up all the threads and providing closure, or maybe because the characters have all aged, or maybe even because so much time passed between books and my own perspective has changed. I did enjoy this book immensely, though. Ursula K. Le Guin is a living legend and her writing is incredibly moving and lyrical.

Reviewed by Charlie


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: