The Death of Artemio Cruz by Carlos Fuentes

This book was complex, difficult for me to follow, and I can comment best by metaphor. It made me feel that I was dropped into a jungle  with dense, tangled words, images, passions, fascinating and beautiful, but I kept losing my way. Or it’s like a painting – fauve? –  with hyper-saturated colors laid on with a trowel.

Still, the underlying story emerges gradually. And I got the sensations if not the understanding of part of Mexico’s history, the poverty, the wealth and power,  the revolutions.  So I can recommend the book for those who have a taste for this elaborate and stream-of-consciousness style.

Reviewed by Sara V.

Leave a Reply

