When Invisible Children Sing by Chi Cheng Huang

I would highly recommend this book to everyone, especially those who are interested in the welfare of children! It is the true story by Dr. Huang, the founder of Kaya Chidren International in La Paz, Bolivia. The book reveals how life truly is for many of the children on the street of La Paz. Heartbreakingly real, the book shares the lives of these children as they deal with life and death on the streets; malnutrition; pregnancy; drug abuse, and it chronicles how lives are changed when they enter into the residential programs provided by Kaya International.

I was so touched from reading this book a number of years ago, that I decided to fulfill a lifelong dream and I return to college to become a nurse. It is 2 1/2 years later and I am just finishing the LPN program. My goal is to become an RN so that I can volunteer for one month with Kaya International in La Paz. For me, reading this book put the priorities of life into perspective. I would highly recommend this book-for me, it was life-changing!

Reviewed by Belle

Leave a Reply

